The Great Albatross - Asleep In The Kaatskills Christmas Deals


The brand new full length album from The Great Albatross out on vinyl via LP Records!

Limited Edition Aquamarine Vinyl
w/ Insert + hand drawn still from "The Honeymoon's Over" music video.
First 90 will also come with a stickered sleeve inspired by my first meeting with Wesley last year.

I am beyond excited to finally release this album to the world and to have it as the first vinyl release on our young label. This album means a hell of a lot to me and to Wesley, it's been crafted and perfected over multiple years with some wonderful musicians involved. I can't wait for you to hear it.
Lorenzo, LP Records

The Great Albatross is the indie music project of singer/songwriter A. Wesley Chung (formerly of Boris Smile). The project was formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 2011 and consists of an expansive, international list of contributors and collaborators.

The project has performed both in the US and UK, including both days of the 2013 Count Your Lucky Stars/Topshelf Records SXSW showcase in Austin, TX, GoNorth Festival in Scotland and Union Chapel in London. The Great Albatross have performed alongside the likes of Into It. Over It.,Pinegrove, Owen, Joan of Arc, Kevin Morby, The World is a Beautiful Place and I am No Longer Afraid to Die, Dowsing, Empire! Empire! (I was a lonely estate), and Football, Etc.

The Great Albatross’s first release was a split 7” (picture disc) with famed indie/emo artist Into It. Over It. released on Struggletown Records. The B-side, “Summer’s Gone (Single Version),” was mixed and co-produced by Glasgow producer Gordon Skene (formerly of Frightened Rabbit, Smash Williams, Moth and the Mirror) and has been aired on BBC Radio Scotland’s Roddy Hart show.

In 2014, they released a 7” vinyl entitled “Roots,” on Count Your Lucky Stars Records. The EP is characterised by lament (an expression of loss, regret and mourning) and expresses a more sombre side of Chung’s writing. Roots includes contributions from Avi Zahner-Isenberg (Avi Buffalo/Sub Pop) and acclaimed Scottish singer/songwriter Jo Mango. Mixed by composer and longtime collaborator Seth Shafer (Boris Smile) and mastered by Carl Saff (Coco Rosie, Peter Broderick, The Innocence Mission).

Their upcoming full length album entitled, “Asleep in the Kaatskills,” will be released with Glasgow based LP Records. The album reflects Chung’s cross-cultural experience of living, writing and performing in both the US and Scotland, which is most explicitly expressed by his recording the album in both countries. While the album lyrically deals with the three major themes of consciousness, relationships and distance, sonically the album explores place, culture and landscape and its effect on both production and musical aesthetic. “Asleep in the Kaatskills” includes guest vocals from Evan Weiss (Into It. Over It.), Kate Grube (Kittyhawk), and Jo Mango, and sees Chung teaming up again with Gordon Skene as co-producer.